website and registration sponsor

Agenda - October 25

7:00 am

Registration and Breakfast

Location: Macleod Rooms

8:00 am

Opening Remarks

Location: Macleod Hall C 


Soheil Asgarpour, President, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada

8:10 am

Keynote Presentation

Location: Macleod Hall C 


David Layzell, Director, Natural Gas Strategy and Engagement, University of Calgary

8:30 am

Session 1: Potential Pathways to Net Zero

Location: Macleod Hall C 


Moderator: Kevin Stashin, Board Chair, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada



David Layzell, Director, Canadian Energy Systems Analysis Research (CESAR) Initiative, University of Calgary

Drew Zieglgansberger, Executive Vice President • Natural Gas & Technical Services, Cenovus Energy

Martha Hall Findlay, Chief Climate Officer, Suncor & Pathways Alliance

10:00 am

break sponsor

 Networking Break

Location: Expo Hall


10:30 am

Session 2: Major Challenges of Net Zero (Regulations, Cost, Risks and Practical Aspects of Launching Mega Net-Zero Projects)

Location: Macleod Hall C 


Moderator: Jackson Hegland, Executive Director, Methane Emissions Leadership Alliance 



Kendall Dilling, CEO, Pathways Alliance

Dave Collyer, Board Chair, Emissions Reduction Alberta

Usha Mulukutla, Technical Leader, Environment, Canada Energy Regulator

John Weissenberger, Vice-President, Technical Science and External Innovation, Alberta Energy Regulator

John Zhou, Chief Cleantech Officer & Vice President,  Alberta Innovates

12:00 pm

luncheon sponsor


Location: Macleod Hall C 


Remarks: Ryan Jansen, Senior Research Engineer, Saskatchewan Research Council 

Remarks: Dean Tucker, Vice Chairman and COO, WPC Canada and Organising Committee for Canada (OCAN) Executive

1:00 pm

Session 3: An Integrated Approach Requiring Massive Global & National Collaboration on Net Zero

Location: Macleod Hall B 


Moderator: Bill Whitelaw, Managing Director, Strategy and Sustainability,  geoLOGIC systems 



Joy Romero, Executive Advisor Innovation, Canadian Natural Resources Limited

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Technology Sector, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)

Laura Kilcrease, CEO, Alberta Innovates

Justin Riemer, President and CEO, Emission Reduction Alberta

2:30 pm

break sponsor


 Location: Expo Hall


2:45 pm

Session 4: Success Stories

Location: Macleod Hall C 


Moderator: Nannette Ho-Covernton, Sustainability Leader, Spartan Controls


Soheil Asgarpour, President, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada

Jonathan Bryan, Technical Director - NGIF Emissions Testing Centre, NGIF

Sean Kotri, Business Development, Oil & Gas, Spartan Controls

4:15 pm

 Day 1 Adjourned - Networking, Exhibition and Student Posters